Diesel Wins Sebring; Le Mans Next

Posted on March 20, 2006

A diesel-powered Audi made motor racing history with the first endurance race victory for a diesel-powered car. Britain's Allan McNish, Rinaldo Capello of Italy and Denmark's Tom Kristensen won the 12-hour Sebring (Fla.) endurance race in an Audi R10 diesel car. The car is also due to compete at this year's Le Mans 24 Hour race.

The Audio R10 had qualified on the pole in its race debut. Powered by a 650 hp V12 TDI engine, the R10 set a track record in the qualifying round with a lap of 1:45.828, bettering the previous mark by more than two seconds.